Rural Development Leadership Network

Rural Women at the UN

Women's Empowerment: Grassroots Rural US Women's Perspectives

The Commission on the Status of Women (CSW), part of the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), was established in 1946 to promote women's rights around the world.

Starry Krueger, Tia Oros Peters, Michelle Cole Barnes, Shirley Williams Mcclain, Shirley Sherrod, Nkwanda Jah, Joan Lucas, Mily Treviño-Sauceda

CSW monitors the implementation of the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, works to mainstream a gender perspective in UN activities and endorses progress toward the Sustainable Development Goals, as part of realizing gender equality and the empowerment of women.

During the annual two-week session of CSW representatives of UN Member States, there are "parallel events", organized by Non Governmental Organizations (NGOs) like the Rural Development Leadership Network. We organize a panel on the CSW theme for the session, presenting the perspectives of diverse grassroots rural women on that topic.

Rural Women - RDLN Delegates

Michelle Cole Barnes: Ordained Minister, Group Home Owner (Alabama)
Cynthia Ellis: Duke of Edinburgh award program Belize, Champion (Belize, Central America)
Joan Lucas: Maya Women's Center (Belize, Central America)
Mily Treviño-Sauceda: Vice President, Alianza Nacional de Campesinas (California)
Tia Peters: Executive Director, Seventh Generation Fund for Indigenous Peoples
Nkwanda Jah: Executive Director, Cultural Arts Coalition (Florida)
Shirley Sherrod: Executive Director, Southwest Georgia Project (Georgia)
Tiffany Carr, Outreach Coordinator
Zayniah Hudson, Jae'la Johnson, Gala Marcus: Youth Representatives
Shirley McClain: Playwright, Director, Actor (North Carolina)
Gardenia White: Board Member, Southern Partners Fund (New York)
Moderator: Starry Krueger: President, Rural Development Leadership Network